We support cutting-edge research and build long-term relationships with top research institutions around the world. To help achieve this, Facebook awards exceptional professors with research awards to support their ongoing research efforts. Awards typically result from our Research Awards program.

Note: previous awardees are archived here but the latest and most recent announcements first appear on our blog.

Bendert Zevenbergen

Princeton University


Ethics - 2017

Mi Zhang

Michigan State University

RFP: Systems for ML - 2020

Saizheng Zhang

Stanford University

RFP: AI - 2017

Haiyi Zhu

University of Minnesota

RFP: Data Science - 2018

Patience Zirima

Media Monitoring Project of Zimbabwe

RFP: Content Policy Research - 2019

Zoubin Ghahramani

University of Cambridge


Machine Learning - 2016

Nancy Zucker

Duke University


Compassion - 2015